Our Leadership Team

Gregory E. Abel

Berkshire Hathaway Inc., Vice Chair – Non-Insurance Operations
Berkshire Hathaway Energy, Chair


Gregory E. Abel, 62, joined Berkshire Hathaway Inc.’s Board of Directors in January 2018 as vice chair – non-insurance operations.


Mr. Abel serves as president for the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc. Recent past board service includes The Kraft Heinz Company, AEGIS Insurance Services, Inc., and AEGIS London board of directors; the Mid-Iowa Council Boy Scouts of America executive board; Drake University board of trustees and American Football Coaches Foundation board of directors. Mr. Abel also previously served as a director and vice chair of Associated Electric & Gas Insurance Services Limited, a mutual insurance company. 

Scott W. Thon

Berkshire Hathaway Energy, President and CEO
Scott W. Thon, 61, is president and CEO of Berkshire Hathaway Energy, where he leads a group of diverse energy businesses located in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain.
Mr. Thon served as president of operations for Berkshire Hathaway Energy from 2022-2023, president and CEO of BHE Canada from 2014-2022, and the CEO of its largest Canadian subsidiary, AltaLink, from 2002-2022. For over 30 years, Mr. Thon has held a variety of senior positions in the energy industry, from operations and engineering to market design and financial management. He has led the investment and construction of significant energy infrastructure developments in Alberta, Canada and globally.


Mr. Thon serves as a director of AEGIS Insurance Services, Inc., Aecon Group Inc. and the Edison Electric Institute. Mr. Thon was presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal (Alberta) in 2022 by the government of Alberta. In 2017, Mr. Thon was recognized by Business in Calgary magazine with their Leaders award. In 2013, Bow Valley College awarded Mr. Thon their Distinguished Citizen Award honoring his commitment to the college. In 2011, Mr. Thon was recognized by the Calgary Chamber of Commerce for his business and community leadership with the Sherrold Moore Award.  


Mr. Thon is a registered professional engineer with a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from the University of Saskatchewan. He is also a graduate of the Executive Program from the University of Western Ontarios Richard Ivey School of Business. In 2015, Mr. Thon completed the Institute of Corporate Director’s Directors Education Program receiving his ICD.D designation.

Natalie L. Hocken

Senior Vice President and
General Counsel

Jennifer A. McIvor

Senior Vice President,
Chief Environment and Sustainability Officer

Calvin D. Haack

Senior Vice President and
Chief Financial Officer

R. Patrick Reiten

Senior Vice President,
Public Policy

Michael A. Ball

Senior Vice President and 

Chief Security Officer

View Bio

Our Business Presidents

Alicia R. Knapp

President and CEO, BHE Renewables

Gino A. Belfari

Cindy Crane

Kelcey A. Brown

Douglas A. Cannon

President and CEO, NV Energy

Mark A. Hewett

Edward W. Rihn

President and CEO, BHE Canada

Philip A. Jones

President and CEO, Northern Powergrid

Gary L. Hart

President and CEO, AltaLink